Grubbers take B1 Grade honours

Ocean Grove won the B1 Grade premiership. (OGCC)

Ocean Grove claimed the BPCA B1 Grade premiership defeating Barrabool at Armstrong Creek.

The Bulls won the toss and batted first with Nathan Findlay (25) and Hayden Bickett (52) putting on 49, but Craig Byron stepped up and took a flurry of wickets.

The left-arm seamer formed a formidable partnership with spinner Tom Kent with Barrabool all out for 119.

Byron took an impressive 6/45 from 24.2 immaculate overs while Kent’s 4/33 from 20 also proved pivotal.

At 3/46 in reply, Jacob Taylor and Luke Morrison (28) put together an important 50-run stand and when Taylor departed for a well-made 45, Ocean Grove was only five runs from victory with five wickets in hand.

MATTHEW Pratt starred in Queenscliff’s B2 win against Wallington.

Pratt made a stunning 107 from only 101 deliveries to steer the Coutas to an imposing 9/252 on day one at Drysdale.

Pratt hit 12 boundaries and three sixes while Michael Washford made 51 and Lewis Citroen 46.

Luke Adam then stepped in on day two to take 6/43 in dismissing the Wallabies for 165.

Damian Howsam (36), Tony Jones (33) and Ross Moreland (30) all spent time at the crease, but Walington needed one of them to go on and get a big one.

BARRABOOL recorded a one-sided 10-wicket victory against Jan Juc at Armstrong Creek.

Miles Kerr made 41 for the Sharks, but Harry Todd took 5/33 from 15 overs for the Bulls and left-armer Zac Pahl 3/27.

Needing 144 for victory, Barrabool openers Sam Francis (86 not out) and Jamie Mulholland (48 not out) did it all themselves.

WALLINGTON defeated Queenscliff in D Grade at Barwon Heads.

Queenscliff batted first and made 8/176 with Ned Stephens getting 61 while Luke Roebuck-Stewart took 2/17 from eight tidy overs.

The Wallabies got the runs with four wickets and eight balls to spare with Matt Shipsides scoring 70 off 95 deliveries and Mark Johnson 34 from 47.