Grubbers honour Featherby

Top honour: Loyal Grubber Paul Featherby was made a life member at the Ocean Grove Football Netball Club AGM on Sunday. 160945

By Mark Heenan

LOYAL Grubber Paul Featherby was made a life member at the Ocean Grove Football Netball Club annual general meeting on Sunday 23 October.
A current general committee member, Featherby’s involvement with the Grubbers has spanned almost 30 years.
A five-time Ocean Grove reserves premiership player, the inspirational clubman has filled roles as playing reserves coach, non-playing reserves coach, a junior football coach and worked at committee level.
Featherby who played until 2003, said he enjoyed his time with the Grubbers after he relocated to Ocean Grove from Bendigo 28 years ago in 1988.
“I (was) from Bendigo and moved down here and was working in the region and naturally I came to the footy club,” he said.
“I am staying on (the general committee), I love doing what I do and luckily they allowed me to do that again.”
Tony Potter will serve his second term as president, while Ocean Grove Cricket Club coach Paul Jubber was appointed Director of Football.
Jubber replaces Kev Nolan, who will join the club’s general committee.
Former Director of Junior Netball Darren Moroney is the new Treasurer.
Justine Finlay was appointed Director of Netball, while Gill Hodgson is the new Director of Junior Netball.
In other news, Ocean Grove Football Club senior best fairest winner James Linton has signed on with the Grubbers for another season in 2017.
The 2016 Damian Clark medallist finished second behind four-time Les Ash Medal winner Josh Finch at the Bellarine Football League best and fairest in his first year with the Grubbers.
President: Tony Potter
Vice President: Peter Smith
Treasurer: Darren Moroney
Secretary: Elaine Pearson
Director of Football: Paul Jubber
Director of Junior Football: Brett Pearson
Director of Netball: Justine Finlay
Director of Junior Netball: Gill Hodgson
Director of Sponsorship: Rob Winter
Director of Communications: Craig Annand
General Committee: John Brooks, Blair Dawkins, Paul Featherby, Kevin Nolan, David Tregenza, Jenny Warren, John Wilkins
Sub Committee Member: Bree Fankhauser