Rock2Ramp attracts 1040 competitors

Matt Gilling (middle) won the 1.2km men's event from Robbe Dilissen and Tommy Lane. (pictures supplied)

The 2023 Burson Rock2Ramp Ocean Swim has been run and won for the 28th time at Point Roadknight Beach, Anglesea.

The event attracted 1040 participants swimming in good conditions for much of the races, which was the second highest number of swimmers ever.

The first event of the day was the 2.5km swim which experienced a challenging course particularly on the longer back straight.

Matt Gilling won the men’s with a time 00:36:39 ahead of Robbe Dilissen (00:37:13) and then Tommy Lane (00:37:58). Dakoda Mathers took out the women’s event with a time of 00:43:20, followed by Racel Ward (00:45:03) and Sofia Piaia (00:46:50).

Campbell Batchelor was the men’s winner of the 600m event with a time of 00:08:56 and Zoe McKenna was the female winner for the second year in a row with a time of 00:08:45.

In the 1.2km event, Robbe Dilissen was the open male winner with a time of 00:16:50, with second place awarded to Tom Urquhart (00:17:21) and then Harry Atkins (00:17:29) in third place. Surf Lifesaving Iron Women Naomi Scott was the open female winner with a time of 00:17:22.Dakoda Mathers placed second (00:17:27) and Anglesea SLSC’s own Naartali Marshall was third (00:17:39).

In the Surf’n’Turf Category, which is a combination of times from the Roo Run’s 8km run and the Burson Rock2Ramp Ocean Swim’s 1.2km swim, it was a family affair with Sam Hume the male winner (00:45:04) and daughter, Jasmine Hume the female winner (00:50:52).

“It was great to see 1040 swimmers – our second highest number of swimmers ever – enjoy the event,” race director Tom Cullen said.

“Whether this was your first-time swimming in an ocean swim, or you were a seasoned swimmer, everyone had a great day.”

For the full results visit