Four of the best

Nina Denham, Edward Ford, Brenda Walter, Wilbur Lawrence and Lloyd Russell. 160934

FOUR outstanding young candidates were presented with awards at the Ocean Grove/Barwon Heads Lions club annual Youth of the Year Quest.
The quest was held at Bellarine Peninsula Church of Christ and about 40 guests including the Youth of the Year District Chairman Lion Phillip Johnson and his wife Anne, who came from Colac and Zone Chairman Lion Terry Parsons.
Club chairperson Lion Brenda Walter said that this year they had four outstanding candidates. Of the four candidates two were from Bellarine Secondary College and two were from Geelong Grammar School.
Nina Denham and Edward Ford represented Bellarine SC and Wilbur Lawrence and Lloyd Russell represented Geelong Grammar. The judges were Pastor Mark Simpson, Deb Lucas from NAB and Lawrie Carroll.
Chief judge Pastor Simpson said this year the competition was a hard one as all students were excellent in their categories.
The candidates had to perform two impromptu questions in which they have to speak for two minutes and a five-minute prepared speech of their choice.
The public speaking award went to Wilbur Lawrence and the overall winner was Edward Ford.