Grubbers cruise into B1 final

Jacob Taylor turns this delivery behind square during his innings of 37. (Ivan Kemp) 394826_05

Ocean Grove and Barrabool will play off for the BPCA B1 Grade premiership at Armstrong Creek West Oval on March 23 and 24.

The Grubbers defeated Armstrong in the semi-final on March 16 and 17 after being sent in and making 7/224.

Skipper David Turner (49), Craig Byron (40 not out), Luke Morrison (38) and Jacob Taylor (37) all got runs for the Grubbers while David Stretton (3/43) was the Titans’ best bowler.

The Ocean Grove attack was able to strangle the Titans’ batters on day two, making scoring difficult.

Spinner Tom Kent (4/25 from 15 overs) and Taylor (3/46 from 21) were largely responsible for restricting Armstrong Creek to 170 all out despite a fine 56 from Shaun Trenorden.

Barrabool was too good for Barwon Heads in the other semi with James Laidlaw making 76 out of his side’s 183 all out. Youngster Angus Mackie took 4/44 for the Seagulls in a top display.

In reply, the Heads were all out for 114 with Archer Jaques taking 3/20.

Queenscliff won a thriller in B2 Grade against Barwon Heads.

Jaxon Mallett made 41 in the Heads’ total of 167 with Luke Adam taking 3/54.

On day two, Queenscliff was 6/40 and then 7/95. When Toby Smith departed for 43, the Coutas were 8/113 and almost down and out, but some intelligent batting from captain Alistair Fleming (31 not out from 110 deliveries) and Jack McKenna (20 from 82) got Queenscliff to 9/158.

Youngster William Boyd then played smartly, finishing not out on zero, but faced 15 deliveries while Fleming was able to manipulate the strike and hit the winning runs.

Sam O’Brien couldn’t have done much more for Barwon Heads with 5/69 from 21/4 overs.

The Coutas will meet Wallington in the final at Drysdale Recreation Reserve with Damien Biemans (45) top scoring in a final total of 147. Biemans then took control with the ball to take 5/40 from 25 overs as Inverleigh was bowled out for 98.

Ocean Grove will play Barrabool in the C Grade final at Armstrong Creek East Oval.

Greg Scarpa (78) again made runs for Grove while Steven Bate (43) and Adam Spiby (43) contributed to the final total of 9/233.

Jan Juc was never in the hunt as Ned Thorley (3/6), Billy Foord-Engelsman (2/13 from 14 overs) and Will Finn (2/8) took wickets with the Sharks bowled out for just 62.

Shane Stevens made 69 as Barrabool booked a grand final berth by defeating Armstrong Creek by 59 runs.

Wallington and Queenscliff will square off in the D Grade final at RT Fuller Oval, Barwon Heads on Saturday March 23.

Queenscliff won a nailbiter against Jan Juc by one run with Phil Bishop (55) and Michael Philp (47) making runs and Brad Thom taking four wickets.

Matthew Shipsides (73) and Mark Johnson (69) got Wallington to a commanding total of 6/248 against Armstrong Creek.

Michael Bedwell then took three wickets to have the Titans all out for 189.