All on board for 40 years of fun

Chris Lacy and Graham Hanel from Barwon Heads Community Bank with president Banjo Harfield and the sponsorship cheque. Pictures: Gary Stephens

A 40th birthday is something to celebrate and the 13th Beach Boardriders did it style at the Barwon Heads Hotel.
With everyone, from original 1977 members to the youngest groms dressed in their best ’70s gear, the party kicked off with a happy hour and tunes from local band Green Blanket.
The club was extremely fortunate to have Sir Trenton Attenborough as MC for the night and he kept the program running smoothly with loads of anecdotes from his many travels. Sir Trenton introduced all of the Division Aggregate Winners for the 2016/17 competitive season and presented the trophies and prizes which were kindly sponsored by Kyo Warehouse.
One of the highlights of the night was the inaugural induction of life-memberships, bestowed on 16 past presidents. Leigh Middleton, the club’s original president responded on behalf of all recipients and in a moving tribute to Erroll Aitken who has since passed away, he told of the young surfer who in 1977 walked into Leigh’s Sunshine Surf shop in Barwon Heads and asked for Leigh’s help in forming a boardriders club. Leigh also paid tribute to the young men who joined the club and developed it to what it is today. Many of the original members were present and he called them to the stage in recognition of their efforts.
The first Club Legend Award was presented to Mark ‘Hutto’ Hutson. Mark was one of the original club members, a gun surfer who has taken out three Open A Titles as well as many Senior and Masters titles over the years. Mark is still competing, finishing second in this year’s Masters title.
At the conclusion of the presentations the 600-plus crowed rocked out to warm up bands Fin Fright and Baked Beans as well as DJs Harkeem Canons and Earl.
At 10pm special guests, the legendary Aussie rockers Grinspoon took the stage and blasted out two hours of hit after hit from their 20-year collection. Grinspoon had the mosh pit grinding and sweating with plenty of crowd surfing going down.
The night finished with DJs Moluk and Chook blasting out tunes until the wee hours.
The 13th Beach Boardriders would like to thank Grinspoon, all the bands and DJs on the night as well as all of its generous sponsors for 2016/17, especially Kyo for sponsoring our presentation night.
The 2017/18 season kicks off on 9 September. Make sure you’re signed up.

Divisional Grand Aggregate Winners for the 2016-17 season:
Super Groms:
Under 10: 1st Jerry Kelly, 2nd Ted Conroy, 3rd Max Bassett, 4th Harry Farrer.
Under 12: 1st Jack Bassett, 2nd Isaiah Norling, 3rd Makarni Storey, 4th Banjo Partos-Slattery.
Under 14: 1st Zeph Lamperd, 2nd Ellie Harrison, 3rd Jett Storey, 4th Charlie Mahoney.
Under 14 Girls: 1st Mini Jarrath, 2nd Hannah Lace, 3rd Ellie Harrison, 4th Bea Conroy.
Cadets: 1st Zeph Lamperd, 2nd Charlie Mahoney, 3rd Jett Storey, 4th Kian Major.
Junior Men: 1st Kian Major, 2nd Zeph Lamperd, 3rd Zac Bonjiorno, 4th Mitch Pope.
Masters: 1st Shane Vincent, 2nd Mark Hutson, 3rd Nathan Jones, 4th Nat Zinn.
Senior Men: 1st Simon Collier, 2nd Shawn Todd, 3rd Christian Pritchett, 4th Greg Bassett.
Open B: 1st Leigh Butcher, 2nd Jaryd Tannahill, 3rd Chris Jansen, 4th Cody Zinn.
Open Women: 1st Emma Walker, 2nd Saphire Main, 3rd Ellie Harrison, 4th Cassie.
Open A: 1st Josh Johnson-Baxter, 2nd Billy Harrison, 3rd Danny Dales-Sutton, 4th Shawn Todd.