Nippers celebrate season

Under 10 competitors Holly Confoy, Georgie McIntyre and Chelsea Hanks celebrate their awards. Story and pictures: Mark Heenan Media 193098

Ocean Grove Surf Life Saving Club Nippers celebrated a successful season with their annual junior presentation day on Sunday 28 April.

The Nipper awards ceremony was held at Barwon Heads Cricket Club to accommodate for the Ocean Grove Surf Beach Complex building re-development, which is expected to open next month.

Ocean Grove Nippers were crowned state champions for the second season running after a successful campaign at the Junior State Surf Lifesaving Championships at Lorne in February.

Supportive parents, coaches and age group managers and enthused juniors packed the Wilkinson Family Pavilion.

Award recipients included Under 8s participants right through Under 13s competitors.

Next season the Under 13s will make the transition into senior surf carnival competitions.

Ocean Grove SLSC junior activities manager Darren Ball said the awards day was a fantastic way to recognise some fantastic individual and team performances from its star juniors across the season.

“A fantastic afternoon with a good turnout considering other sporting commitments,” Ball told the Voice.

“The awards were very satisfying where kids from all age groups and abilities were recognised particularly with the introduction of the coaches’ awards.

“Kids (had) smiles and fun afterwards with a disco a (real) hit.”

IN other developments, Ocean Grove SLSC will host a Life Saving Victoria Round 2 IRB carnival on Sunday 12 May.

The IRB state carnival at Ocean Grove beach commences at 8.30am and concludes at 2pm.

Ocean Grove Surf Life Saving Club 2018-19 Nipper Awards winners

Boys Under 13: 1st James Leahy (36 pts); 2nd Campbell Asher (31 pts); 3rd Charles Leahy (30 pts).

Girls Under 13: 1st Helen Topolcsanyi (36 pts); 2nd Jorgia Young (35 pts); 2nd Pippi McIntyre (35 pts); 3rd Shani Paranavitana (22 pts).

Boys Under 12: 1st Will Deverall (39 pts); 2nd Caden Walsh (32 pts); 3rd Khy Slavinskis (28 pts).

Girls Under 12: 1st Sienna Stewart (34 pts); 2nd Matilda Richards (31 pts); 3rd Dana Sellars (30 pts).

Boys Under 11: 1st Jerry Kelly (42 pts); 2nd Hugo Walsh (37 pts); 3rd Charlie Eales (29 pts).

Girls Under 11: 1st Kayla Forward (38 pts); 2nd Georgia Rolfs (29 pts); 3rd Arabella Gruar (28 pts).

Boys Under 10: 1st Toby Hallam (34 pts); 2nd Kye Porter (28 pts); 3rd Will Goldstraw (27 pts).

Girls Under 10: 1st Holly Confoy (43 pts); 2nd Chelsea Hanks (36 pts); 3rd Georgie McIntyre (35 pts).

Boys Under 9: 1st Ryan Tolley (48 pts perfect); 2nd Patrick Lonergan (32 pts); 3rd Archie Deverall (29 pts).

Girls Under 9: 1st Molly Slavinskis (45 pts); 2nd Hollie Smith (32 pts); 3rd Sasha Naughtin (27 pts).

Boys Under 8: 1st Hugh Rolfs (35 pts); 2nd Paddy Moulton (34 pts); 3rd Ary Patel (25 pts).

Girls Under 8: 1st Grace Bird (34 pts); 2nd Indigo McIntyre (30 pts); 3rd Abbey Walsh (21 pts); 3rd Matilda Gordon (21 pts).

Rookies of the Year: Billie Cook and Kye Porter

Most Improved: Niamh Partridge and Zach Cassamento

Iron Competitors of the Year: Matilda Richards and Campbell Asher

Beach Competitors of the Year: Pippi McIntyre and Ryan Tolley

Most Potential: Hugo Walsh and Kayla Forward

Coaches Awards: U8 Girl Grace Bird; U8 Boy Paddy Moulton; U9 Girl Molly Slavinskis; U9 Boy Oscar Borthwick; U10 Girl Lara Forward; U10 Boy Lennox Crabtree; U11 Girl Eliza Clancy; U11 Boy Jonathan Punchard; U12 Girl Cookie Robinson; U12 Boy Rauri Davison; U13 Girl Jorgia Young; U13 Boy Matthias Panoussi.


Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.