Pollies at surf awards night

Shared honour: Ocean Grove SLSC's Bec Sampson, centre, and Shannon Tierney both win Best Patrol Person Fred Leiper Memorial. Both are pictured here with Labor candidate for Corangamite Libby Coker, left. 154244

SURF lifesaving folk, locals and the region’s political dignitaries turned out for the Ocean Grove SLSC annual presentation awards night at The Dunes Cafe on 14 May.
Guests included Federal MP for Corangamite Sarah Henderson, Labor candidate for Corangamite Libby Coker and State Member for Bellarine Lisa Neville.
Ocean Grove SLSC confirmed 135 tickets were sold on the night.
Notable winners included local ironman champion Guy Kinsey, who won the Barry Renton Memorial Best Competitor Award.
Ocean Grove SLSC president Steve Peatling praised Kinsey’s dedication to the surf lifesaving craft to compete in a high level of competition and his on-going loyalty to club.
Kinsey will soon relocate north as he embarks on a new journey with Gold Coast-based Currumbin Beach Vikings SLSC.
Popular local Vince ‘Cenzo’ Occhipinti won the John Bishop Memorial Best Clubman Award.
Patrol volunteers Bec Sampson and Shannon Tierney shared the honour for the Fred Leiper Memorial Best Patrol Person award.
In other club news, Ocean Grove SLSC’s membership base is closing in on 900.
Earlier this month the club recorded membership at 893.
Ocean Grove SLSC will hold its annual general meeting on Sunday 24 July.