Legends of 2018 rewarded

David Rae

“Honesty, respect and hard work” have earned David Rea the Geelong region’s second annual $10,000 Club Legend award, according to judges.

David won $5000 each for him and his Barwon Soccer Club when he was named overall winner at this week’s Viva Energy awards for the people behind local sports clubs.

The judges praised his “dedication and passion for the club”.

“Since founding the club 26 years ago he has tirelessly worked to bring Barwon’s wide and diverse community together by nurturing a welcoming and inclusive environment at the club,” the judges said.

“From its humble beginnings the club is now one of Geelong’s largest community soccer clubs with over 500 members.”

Portarlington Football Club “all-rounder” Rodney Smith won the Club Legend Runner Up award.

“An ever-present stalwart of the club, Smithy was recognised for his community values, willingness and generosity of spirit,” the judges said.

Newcomb Power Football Netball Club juniors coordinator Scott Smith won the People’s Choice award for an “inclusive approach” to involving kids of all abilities and for his “huge efforts” to improve their facilities.

Rodney and Scott both received a $2000 individual prize and matching amount for their clubs. Jason won $2000 for himself and an equal amount for a charity of his choice.

Viva Energy employee Jason Jozwik won an inaugural Refinery Legend award for “exceptional efforts in raising community awareness of motor neurone disease”, including raising more than $84,000 to fight illness.

Viva Energy refining general manager Thys Heyns was thrilled to recognise all winners and finalists.

“It is truly an honour to acknowledge the efforts and contributions of not only our winners but of all those nominated by their clubs in recognition of their tremendous community achievements,” he said.

“We are incredibly proud to be part of a community that is made up of so many inspiring role models. It is the efforts of these people, toiling away behind the scenes, that forms the backbone of our great Geelong community.”

The remaining finalists, who each received $1000 for themselves and their clubs, were: Geoff McDonald, Athletics Chilwell; Peter White, Barwon Rowing Club; Robert Malcolm, Drysdale Cricket Club; Jenny Fagan, Geelong Amateurs; Daniel Noonan, Geelong Buccaneers American Football Club; Sean Clark, Geelong Cycling Club; Margaret Harry, Geelong Dragon Boat Club; Romeo Purlijq, Geelong Soccer & Sports Club; Jim Rendevski, Geelong Soccer & Sports Club; John Beckworth, Geelong Swimming Club; Rohan Greaves, Geelong Touch Association; John Biviano, Geelong West Giants; Garry Birch, North Geelong Football Netball Club; Christine Scott, North Geelong Secondary College; Alison Roberts-Wray, Queenscliff Lonsdale Yacht Club; John Robert, St Albans Football Club; and Sue Cormack, St Joseph’s Football and Netball Club. 

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.