High honours for Grubbers

Anna Smith had a terrific 2019 and won the BFNL 15 and Under Division 1 league best and fairest award.

By Mark Heenan

Star Ocean Grove A Grade goal shooter Rebecca Scott was among a host of Grubbers which scooped the awards at this month’s Bellarine Football Netball League awards night.

Scott, A Grade captain, polled 27 votes and was runner-up in the league best and fairest awards, while Geelong Amateur netballer Ashlea Salter won 36 votes at the Buckley’s Entertainment Centre on 4 September.

Scott won the Hot Shots award after scoring 697 goals and named in the BFNL team of the year at goal shooter.

“I was very surprised to come runner-up – I didn’t expect that all,” Scott told Voice.

“It was (pretty humbling) I was quite surprised but I think after I won the goal shooting award I assumed they thought they had to put me in the team of the year.

Scott had aimed to shoot at 85 per cent from her goal attempts in 2019.

“After every game I have a look to see what my percentage is and I like to aim for 85 per cent but a lot of the year my average (goal shooting percentage) is about 80 per cent.

“It is bit lower than what I would have liked, especially in finals it was low – practice more I will get there.”

IN other developments Ocean Grove’s Shereen Wolfe won the D Grade league best and fairest by three votes from Queenscliff’s Kari Peart (18 votes).

Wolfe secured the medal by polling a single vote in Round 18 and finished with 21 votes.

GRUBBER E Grade pair Terri-Anne Finch and Constance Smith both tied for runner-up with 16 votes to finish behind Barwon Heads winner Ashleigh Williams.

IN other Ocean Grove junior netball developments Anna Smith won the 15 and Under Division 1 League best and fairest honour last month.

MEANTIME Grubber senior footballer Jake Ward was named in the Bellarine Football League team of the year on the interchange.

Luke Cartelli was the leading senior Grubber vote getter in the BFL league best and fairest awards after he finished with 10 votes from only playing 10 games.

Modewarre playing co-coach John Meesen and Torquay playing coach Dom Glesson both tied for first with 22 votes to share the BFL’s senior Les Ash Medal honour. 

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.